Dirt Slingers Racing League

Derick Walker’s the Dog at Eldora

The Dirt Slingers series at iWCR headed for Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, OH for round 3 of the series. A full field of drivers made it to the track to try and capture the first ever win at the famed venue in iWCR history. The fans were not disappointed with the on track action they witnessed. Every race was highly contested from the heat races all the way through the A Main to close the evening.

The first of 4 heat races would see fast qualifier from hot laps, Derick Walker, lead the field of 5 drivers to the green and he would never look back. Leading all 8 laps and advancing himself straight into the A Main. He would be followed by William Evans, who would also automatically join the A Main field.

Heat 2 would see Alex Crapser lead the field to green and then lead them to the checkers as well. The race featured closely contested racing from start to finish with Justin Michael and Nathan Sedlak battling hard for the 2nd transfer spot. In the end Justin Michael would join the A Main field.

Heat 3 was no exception, closely contested racing from start to finish. Brock Hopkins would lead Cody Olsen to the checkers and both would transfer to the A Main.

The final heat race of the night may very have had some of the closest action contained in its 8 lap battle for 2nd between Galen Gidman and Joshua Scharz. Nose to tail and wheel to wheel the two traded barbs the entire way, all the while trying to chase down Bentley Glaser. Glaser would win the heat and Gidman would come home second to close out the heat races.

With 8 cars already headed for the A Main, the remaining 12 slots would be up for grabs in the B Main, and once again the Dirt Slingers drivers would produce another intense battle. For 12 laps the 13 cars on the track would battle for each and every spot. Roger Wagner and Thomas Brandner would lead the field to green. Brandner would never relent, and the two even made slight contact taking the white flag. In the end Wagner would pick up the victory with Brandner tightly tucked in behind him.

With the entire 20 car field set, the A Main would deliver the same excitement as every other race for the evening. Slide job passes, cars running the low line, cars rim riding, and with only 3 yellow flags slowing the action slightly, the pace was fast and furious. In the end Derick Walker would lead flag to flag and take home his first win of the series. Followed by points leader William Evans and newcomer Justin Michael to round out the podium.

The Dirt Slingers Series moves on to Willaims Grove Speedway for the halfway point of the season next week. Join the action because real drivers do it in the dirt! See ya at the track!!!

Categorized: 360 Sprints
activity anchor aside attachment audio-mute audio bold book bug cart category chat checkmark close-alt close cloud-download cloud-upload cloud code cog collapse comment day document download edit ellipsis expand external fastforward feed flag fullscreen gallery heart help hide hierarchy home image info italic key link location lock mail menu microphone minus month move next notice paintbrush pause phone picture pinned play plugin plus previous print quote refresh reply rewind search send-to-phone send-to-tablet share show shuffle sitemap skip-ahead skip-back spam standard star-empty star-half star status stop subscribe subscribed summary tablet tag time top trash unapprove unsubscribe unzoom user video videocamera warning website week xpost zoom